Song of the Day – A Cover


White Stripes – Seven Nation Army

Now I know what you’re thinking – this song is old, everyone knows it. Does it really merit a song of the day title (yes it obviously does, despite being old in modern terms) – one can’t argue with the talent of Jack “I’m so bloody prolific it would make you simpletons sick” White. This song is great. Adjectives with music make me sick too so listen/relisten yourselves, then compare with the one below..

 

Marcus Collins – Seven Nation Army

Really? Didn’t know this talented nobody wrote this.. Apologies for the fact he looks like a complete knob in the video, and seems to grow extra arms whenever he needs it – I didn’t make this – but I do like this version. I was mainly enamoured by it because I thought it meant we might be in luck of a decent cd at work (I was disappointed), and apparently he’s something to do with the X Factor (“ex-factah” etc) or Britain’s Got Talent – I don’t know, but people do talk a lot about these things, again at work. Indeed I believe there was a time a colleague was genuinely concerned that The Voice and Britain’s Got Talent might clash on the evening television viewing schedule. Anyway, this song introduces some good brass moments, and yes I know he’s a dick and all that, but he might have thrown this song out to more people than scary-looking Jack White did. A shame, but probably true. Thoughts, anyone?

Leave a Reply

