Later With Jools Holland.. Friday 8th April.


Oh hello Jools! He is back in action with his Tuesday and Friday night musical delights, which means this blog is too. And I get to press all my opinions about everything he shows onto you, my esteemed fan base, as this is my blog. Wonderful.

So. Where to begin. I’m not sure what order to babble about in, as does one save the best until last or write about what’s easiest first? I think, today, I shall make a sandwich effect – Worst, Middle (of the proverbial road?), Best. So we start and end with hopefully lots to talk about.

Beady Eye. What were you thinking? The remnants (or majority) of Oasis continue to pour out musical drivel in essentially what is Oasis just in a different guise. I believe we were treated to three songs (THREE!), none of which I could pick out a distinct tune, all of which featured the same structure. And all of which featured exceptionally bored looking band members and Liam “I’m such a knob of a bygone era” Gallagher leaning into the microphone in his usual “couldn’t give a toss” manner, except his arms had nothing else to do. He represents, more and more, the monkey which he so obviously is. Benchlad, amusingly, pointed out that the microphone stand wasn’t quite high enough so he was having to bend his knees to get the original effect that he had so wonderfully mastered in the glory days, but unfortunately this was the most gripping part of the performance. Ps. I hate Oasis.

The Tallest Man On Earth. Yeah. Not bad. Probably my third favourite thing on this week’s edition, but but but.. Can’t people do something different? Man+acoustic guitar is getting a little tedious. Irritatingly, he seemed to base his voice on those dastardly characters the Kings Of Leon (why would you ever do this?!) and his look slightly on Robin Pecknold, but I still quite enjoyed this. I paid attention anyway, which is a huge thing.

Anna Calvi – See, this was good, but not amazing. The sound didn’t seem to be fantastic on this, so that probably didn’t work in her/their favour, but it wasn’t anything special really. And she looked completely incongruous with the guitar. Not that females shouldn’t play them as such, but her outfit with an electric guitar didn’t go. And where were her eyes? My favourite part of this was the odd wheezy instrument that one of her bandmates was playing, along with all the other things she had on her stand. Everyone seems to be enjoying this bird, and I can’t quite see why. As usual..

McCoy Tyner. Just fuck off why don’t you. This is background music with a huge glass of wine at best, and nothing else. Bloody jazz with its improvising and ARGH. I’m not sure, apart from Stravinsky, whether there’s anything quite as divisive.


Raphael Saadiq – I enjoyed this much! It was pleasant to find someone who didn’t look like they were about to have a breakdown (or die of boredom) in their songs. His first song did rather make me think I was watching a PC version of a Buddy Holly song, but there was a properly funky choon after that. I like this indeed, possibly my favourite thing of the evening, as I’m still not entirely sure if I genuinely like the next band.

Elbow. Oh Elbow. How you put me in a quandary. On the surface, they could be looked upon as actually quite boring (I mean really, they’re quite sedate, are they not?), but they do have some properly soulful choons. I think I’ve played ‘Open Arms’ about three times today. They seem to have achieved Arena Status without losing credibility, which Arcade Fire have also managed to do (although they are definitely more exciting). They just sort of crept up in the background without coming to foreground until someone went “Elbow are awesome!” when every household already knows them and no one dislikes them. They’re too inoffensive to be disliked I think, it’s very hard to find something properly wrong with them. Anyway, this evening was a good performance, much enjoyed by the crowd by the sounds of things, and in some places slightly moving. Good work Elbow. Terrible interview with Mr Garvey, Jools, but has there ever been a good one?

And so we come to an end of the first edition. Next week has Cee Lo Green (people seem to want to sleep with him at the moment), Bootsy Collins (!) (I genuinely thought he was dead), a derivative of the Kuti clan and the other man everyone seems to want to sleep with, John T Pearson. Could be an interesting mix..

Leave a Reply

